top of page
Search

Life is an imagination

My father and I were invited to a local villager’s house for a get together. We happily accepted the invitation. His wife was baking bread in the backyard. One could smell it from a mile away. Everyone got together and we started eating and drinking. After I was done, I decided to step outside and walk around the village with the hopes of meeting some people. It wasn’t rude of me to leave the table sooner than everyone else, because I knew the elders were going to continue drinking all day. I was done with the long, endless speeches, in other words toasts, that stopped making sense after a few bottles of vodka.


I walked all the way to the end of the village where they had their cemetery. I went in through the gate and one by one read their names, the birth and death dates written on their tombstones. Some of these went back a couple of centuries. I walked around, read, sat by some and wondered what kind of people they were and what they did and if they’d left any legacy. This was a meditation for me. After I walked out of there, I saw a cow grazing. I approached her. She didn’t fear me, only moved her ears. I touched her head and walked away.


I love connecting with other beings. In a few hours I had connected with our host and his family, with a gentle cow, a couple of neighborhood dogs - some kind and some rabid (thank god they were tied up), and finally, I had connected with the dead, their memory, their story I kind of imagined in my head, and their legacy.


Life is a story that unfolds as we take breaths and this story is imaginary whether we believe it or not. We rise up, we have a random thought that becomes an idea and that thought creates the mini journey that we’ll take the rest of that day doing things, meeting people, fighting, laughing, loving, singing and then we come home and go to bed never realizing that we live our lives by ideas popping up in our head, and the thoughts that we create. A thought is a form of imagination. Life is the very imagination of us humans. It’s all an imagination. Don’t take it that seriously.



10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page