top of page
Search

Don't teach, have a shot of vodka

Don’t teach anyone the right way to live. The right way to live is something we can only teach the dead. Just have a of shot of mulberry vodka. :)


I had this realization after my dad and I drove out of the city, as we usually do, to wonder around in nature and maybe take some photos. We were driving out when we noticed a beautiful meadow on the left side of the road. There was a horse there grazing quietly. I quickly asked my dad to stop the car for a moment so we could look at that view for a few minutes. We got out of the car and I tried crossing the street to go down near the horse, but quickly found out that there was a swamp between us. So I stopped and just marveled at that view. We stood there for a few minutes and all of a sudden we heard a voice, “Can I help you with anything, brothers?”. We turned around and saw a guy with a suit and a sun tanned face. Artur was his name. He introduced himself as the village chief and invited us to the cabin where his security guard sleeps. He offered us a drink. My dad naturally refused, because he was driving. I jump at the opportunity; not because of the drink - well maybe a little bit. I was just curious to interact with a local. I wondered what he had to say. That and I can’t refuse someone when they offer me something - sometimes I do.


One thing there is plenty of in Armenia is hospitality. This country is infected with hospitality. It runs in their veins, even if they are poor. They will give you their last piece of bread without hesitation.


My stomach was empty; I don’t eat until late evening usually - I just don’t feel like eating. He brought out the vodka. It had 75% alcohol in it but it tasted so good. I had 3 shots on empty stomach. Thank God I ended up walking away later rather than being carried away. He had his son, who was studying to be a doctor in medical school, bring out their home made bread, lavash, and home made honey. We were in heaven. I drank the mulberry vodka, then ate a piece of bread with honey that smelled and tasted like 5 different flowers, we promised Artur that we’d go back and see him again and have another kind of vodka that he promised he’d bring from home. We all promised things to each other and we were on our way out. Later, we went to a local mountain that had a lake on top. That's a story for a different time maybe. It was a beautiful day.

Here is me drinking with Artur. Not much of a story. Just documenting my days, for fun. I keep discovering extremely intelligent, kind, hospitable, and wise people filled with fascinating life experiences. I keep observing how they live and I realize again and again that the best way to live is just to live and open up to people and all other beings without fear. There is no right way to live; the right way to live is something we can only teach the dead. Just have a shot of mulberry vodka with a complete stranger, preferably complemented by his wife’s bread and honey, and life will reveal its flawlessness to you.


21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

תגובות


bottom of page