top of page
Search
Writer's pictureArt Grigorian

A Teacher or an Instructor?

I am a yoga teacher, which is a weird statement because the truth is, there is nothing to teach. Whatever is learned ideally should be a tool to help unlearn other things. Then when other things are learned, those help to burn the thing learned before. Ideally, this goes on until nothing else needs to be learned or burned. Leaning and burning still happens but there is no attachment to it anymore. It becomes a dance.

So, whatever we think we are learning now, will be burned soon enough - in a day, two month, or 68 years which is soon.


Being a yoga teacher is a paradox, it's a self-contradictory profession.


One can be a yoga instructor though that instructs how to do postures, breath, and some other things and that can be more valuable and perhaps prestigious than a teacher. A teacher then becomes irrelevant within the societally induced construct because this construct is designed to be a ‘doing, a learning, and accumulating lots of things’ construct.


A teacher that teaches things that burn what is learned is irrelevant and has no place to cozy up and fit in the puzzle of the construct.

Hmm. What's to be done? Well, I carry wood, I burn fire, I chew my food, I raise my child, I walk, I eat, I drink delicious wine, I read cool books, I make jokes about dog owners who don't pick up their dogs' poops size of the owners' heads but smaller than their ego, I tell jokes to Tara translated from Armenian hoping to be funny but sometimes my translations are really bad and she still waits for the punchline which i had already delivered… oh and I look at the mountains a lot. That's about it. I can’t get paid looking at the mountains but there is value in not getting paid too. I see that value because I don’t fit in the construct, and money is a thing in the construct - it’s what keeps it alive.


And as for me, I’ll survive. The construct is a dream. So enjoy every moment of the dream-state because you might be in danger of waking up one day.

In Truth always




15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page