top of page
Search

I AM

I never really dedicated a chunk of my life to mastering a skill.


I draw well, but never put the time to master it. My high school art teacher punched me in the belly when he found out I would not pursue art as a major.


I was part of a chess club. Returning home from class, an icicle fell onto my head. I cleverly used that as an excuse to discontinue chess


I was a swimming champion in our town. Now, swimming is a pleasant activity.

I know a few chords on the guitar; enough to accompany my terrible singing voice to entertain my daughter.


I was a gifted pianist as a boy; had perfect pitch; could play any tune by ear before I even went to music school. I got a full scholarship in piano performance, did not want to become a classical pianist. I was too lazy to spend hours at the piano. My teacher was disappointed. She didn’t punch me though


Got my BM in Composition; composed solo and chamber pieces, but stopped after graduating. My teacher thought I was a good composer and offered me his contacts in Europe to live there and write music. I didn’t do it.


Something had already started burning inside-out over the years. Yoga was not what ignited that change, but it gave me the strength to endure the excruciating pains I was experiencing so I could bring things out and see them clearly for what they really were and not what I thought they were. Once I was clear about them, they left.


The first thing that left was the regret about not becoming “somebody” important in this life. Other things followed. The ultimate realization was that fear was the biggest hoax and there was no death


Even though I did practice lots of yoga, I still do not consider it a skill. If pressed, I would say my one and only, therefore my best skill is wanting very little or nothing from life.

Life does not require us to become something other than who we already are, the society does. To be ourselves, we could just sit with legs stretched out and kill time without harming eternity. Once we no longer derive our identity from doing things, we can do things - with as much passion as we like

I AM is the name of Love. Love doesn’t have an opposite therefore it is already whole.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page